Gaia’s Seasonal Teachings


shutterstock_145833095 (2)350x350In the Celtic Goddess tradition, the year is comprised of eight solar holidays, four major ones (the solstices and equinoxes) and four secondary, referred to as the cross quarters.  (This refers to the Northern Hemisphere, they are reversed in the Southern Hemisphere).

Gaia’s Seasonal Earth Teachings is designed to educate and empower the influences of each of the earth based cycles of celebrations. In this program you will be able to fully understand on how the yearly cycle of change influences our physical and emotional realm. Through the 2 Equinoxes, 2 Solstices. Imbolc, Beltane, Lughnasad and Samhain.  Generally individuals begin their seasonal year with Winter Solstice; some prefer to start their year off with Samhain; feel into what is true for you.

Each of these nature based holidays will be available at their respective time of the year.



Winter Solstice

Celebrated December 20-23 Also known as Yule

This is the shortest day and longest night of the year.  This mid-winter festival is celebrated on the return of the sun from the darkness; this is the time of rebirth of light within as well as light without. (We start to think about our seeds we will plant for the following year)



Celebrated February 1 or 2

Also known as Brighid’s Day & Candlemas

Imbolc marks the beginning of spring it falls between Winter Solstice and Spring Equinox.  It is still deep in the winter when we celebrate and it is a time for preparing for the growing season. (We begin to plant the seeds that we were thinking about in Winter Solstice)


Spring Equinox

Celebrated March 21-22

Also known as Ostara or Eostar

The earth is starting to be reborn and all things feel young and playful.  Day and night are in equal balance and the young energy adds to your growing cycle. (Nurture your seeds)



Celebrated May 1

Also known as May Day

Beltane represents the Divine Feminine and the Divine Masculine, God and Goddess.  This is the time to fertilize your creation(s) and walk in balance with the world. (Continue to tend and fertilize your seeds)


Summer Solstice

Celebrated June 21-22

Also known as Midsummer

Summer Solstice is the longest day and shortest night of the year.  This is a time where we tend to our gardens and enjoy the outside and beauty of nature and our gardens.  We love the light and warmth summer provides our crops.  (Continue to nurture our seeds to provide for a hearty crop to sustain you through the winter months)



Celebrated August 1 & 2

Also known as Lammas (First Harvest)

Lughnasad is the first of the three harvest festivals.  Lammas means “loaf-mass and this festival honors the sacred grain that is transformed into bread.  The seed is planted; it grows, ripens and is harvested to transform into baking of the bread.


Autumnal Equinox

Celebrated September 21&22

Also known as Mabon (Second Harvest)

Autumnal Equinox is the second harvest festival; we start to prepare for cooler and darker days ahead.  We start to turn inward and realize that our crops need to last us for the winter.  It is a time we notice the change of the season and need to let go of things that no longer serve us.  It is also a time of equal day and night.


Samhain (Sah-win)

Celebrated October 31

Also known as Halloween (Third Harvest)

For some the seasons and cycles end or start at this festival.  I personally start at this cycle and start to reflect on my year; what seeds I planted and what seeds grew; what was I able to harvest.  This is the time as one year passes; another begins.  This is the time we honor both the death of the old and the beginning of the New Year; it is a veil between the worlds of the living and the dead.



Shopping Cart (0 Items)
Your cart is empty!

Subtotal: $0.00 USD
Total: $0.00 USD